2017-2018 MI Design Prize Governor's Award

BAS awarded Governor's Award for MI Design Council Competition

  • In October 2017, Brighton Area Schools for received the Governor's Award from the Michigan Design Council! Brighton received this award for having the most participation in the Michigan Design Prize (MDP) last year. This process was facilitated and supported by Diane Tamblyn (Hawkins Kindergarten Teacher), Kim Lewicki (Academic Enrichment Coach), Gillian McColgan (Academic Enrichment Coach), Tracie Richards (Hornung Media Specialist), Dr. David Chesney (Vice President, BAS Board of Education), and Dr. Laura Surrey (Assistant Superintendent of Instruction). The MDP is an annual competition celebrating and developing exceptional Michigan industrial design talent. K- 12 grade and college/university students from across the state were invited to tackle a singular design challenge linked to Michigan and larger societal issues as actual designers solving an authentic problem.

    Gary Smith, Vice President of Herman Miller was the keynote speaker at the awards ceremony. He spoke to the 2017 winners about product design and the great need for creative problem solvers in the state of Michigan.

    Jeff DeBoer, Chairman of the Michigan Design Council and CEO of SundbergFerar honored many Brighton students. Smith Christie (Kindergarten student at Spencer), Isabelle Gronow (3rd grade student at Hornung), Cecilia Pruski (4th grade student at Hawkins) and Eliot Buchhop (4th grade student at Hawkins) were all grand prize winners of the Michigan Design Prize. They received a special day with an industrial designer to bring their idea to life, as well as a medal and recognition at the ceremony.